TIP: How To Ensure That Users Are Fully Signed Out Of Windows 10

Something that has been bugging me since the Fall Creators Update of 2017 is that I’ve noticed that users are no longer automatically signed out when I shut down or restart my PC. I could tell that because applications that were open when I shut down automatically came back on the next startup. Since I only use my PC intermittently, specifically for Zwift indoor cycling sessions, I never invested any time to look at it. But a day or so ago, I got a bit ticked at this behavior that I decided to invest some time to figure out why this was happening. Twenty minutes later, I had figured it out:

  • Open the Settings app
  • Go to Accounts
  • Go to Sign-in Options
  • Scroll to the bottom until you reach the Privacy section and UNSELECT the option to “Use my sign-in info to automatically finish setting up my device after an update or restart.” Do this for EVERY account on your PC.

I can only conclude that Microsoft did this for some sort of ease of use or convenience reason. I say that because I cannot find this change documented anywhere. But whatever the reason, I’m not a fan. But I hope that this helps someone else who has this issue.

 

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: