TikTok Strengthens Youth Privacy Policies

Today, TikTok announced changes for users under age 18 aimed at driving higher standards of user privacy and safety by default. We want our younger users to be able to make informed choices about their privacy, and by engaging them early in their privacy journey, they hope to help them make more informed decisions.

Enhanced default privacy settings

Starting today, TikTok is changing the default privacy setting for all registered accounts ages 13-15 to private. With a private TikTok account, only someone who the user approves as a follower can view their videos. They want younger users to be able to make informed choices about what and with whom they choose to share, which includes whether they want to open their account to public views. By engaging them early in their privacy journey, TikTok can enable them to make more deliberate decisions about their online privacy. 

As young people start their digital journey, TikTok believes it’s important to provide them with age-appropriate privacy settings and controls to manage their online presence.

  • Starting today, TikTok is changing the default privacy setting for all registered accounts ages 13-15 to private. With a private TikTok account, only someone who the user approves as a follower can view their videos.
  • Tightening the options for commenting on videos created by those ages 13-15. These users can now choose between Friends or No One for their account; the Everyone comment setting is being removed.
  • Changing Duet and Stitch settings to now make these features available on content created by users 16 and over only. For users ages 16-17, the default setting for Duet and Stitch will now be set to Friends.
  • Allowing downloads of videos that have been created by users 16 and over only. Other users can decide whether they want to allow downloads of their videos, though for users ages 16-17 the default setting will now be changed to Off unless they decide to enable it.
  • Setting “Suggest your account to others” to Off by default for users ages 13-15.

Adjusting TikTok’s default account settings to support stronger user privacy is a meaningful step in TikTok’s ongoing commitment to keeping younger users safe. These changes build on previous updates including restricting direct messaging and hosting live streams to accounts 16 and over, and enabling parents and caregivers to set guardrails on their teen’s TikTok experience through our Family Pairing features.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: