UBISOFT Announces The First World Cup For Tom Clancy’s Rainbow Six Siege

Yesterday at Ubisoft’s digital press conference, Ubisoft Forward, the company announced the first ever Rainbow Six World Cup, an exciting new way to enjoy esports on Tom Clancy’s Rainbow Six® Siege. The Rainbow Six World Cup will take place in the Summer of 2021. For the first time in Rainbow Six Esports history, players from 45 countries and regions will compete at the highest level to become the one team that will make history by bringing home the very first Rainbow Six World Cup trophy. The World Cup is also a unique and unprecedented opportunity for fans to share their love, pride and unconditional support with the team that will represent them on the worldwide stage.

For such a special occasion, Ubisoft has entrusted international athlete Tony Parker to take on the role of ambassador for the Rainbow Six World Cup and share his 20-years of experience with the players involved in the competition. With 4 NBA titles, a EuroBasket title, more than 180 selections in national team and a true passion for esports and gaming, Tony Parker will have great insights to share with players who will face, for the first time, the special pressure and stakes that come with competing in world cups.

From September 2020 to Summer 2021: the road to the Rainbow Six World Cup

From amateur competitive scenes which started only 5 years ago, Rainbow Six Siege has developed into Ubisoft’s top-tier esports title, with more than 60 million players worldwide, and 40 professional teams competing in four strong regional leagues across North America, Europe, Latin America and Asia-Pacific. The Rainbow Six World Cup is the latest addition to the Rainbow Six Esports ecosystem, as an independent layer of competition and the first ever country-based tournament for the game.

The Rainbow Six World Cup will involve a total of 45 countries and regions throughout two stages. The Qualifier Stage will happen during the first half of 2021, while the Final Stage will take place during the summer of 2021. Fourteen countries and regions will get a direct invite to the Final Stage and, 31 other countries will take part in online qualifiers to compete for one of the six remaining available slots. Ultimately, 20 teams will be competing in the Final Stage of the World Cup.

To determine the composition of each national team, local Rainbow Six Siege communities and professional scenes will participate in a two-step process:

  • Starting September 14, each of the 45 participating countries and regions will start selecting their National Committees, composed of three team managers. 
  • Later this fall, each National Committee will select the five players who will compete in the team.

The National Committees will ultimately head the team they carefully composed as they take on the challenge to become World Cup champions.

Additional details on the competition and the national committee selection process are available here: https://rainbow6.com/R6WorldCup

To learn more about Tom Clancy’s Rainbow Six Esports, please visit https://www.rainbow6.com/esports and follow them at https://twitter.com/R6esports and https://instagram.com/R6esports.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: